The Kitten, the Witches and the Bad Wardrobe - Willow & Tara Forever

General Chat  || Kitten  || WaV  || Pens  || Mi2  || GMP  || TiE  || FAQ  || Feed - The Kitten, the Witches and the Bad Wardrobe

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: The Meditation Thread
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:24 am 
30. Sweaty and Kinda Gay

I keep wanting to be able to post in the exercise thread but, I don't exercise much, however, I do meditate regularly, and I've noticed that there are a few other kittens who either already meditate, or would like to start meditating, so I thought it would be cool to start a thread where people could post about their daily meditation experience or ask questions about the meditation process.

I've been meditating regularly for more than five years and am currently using the Vipassana technique, which is a sensation based method and focuses on accepting physical sensation as that without relating it to a positive or negative experience (which is my understanding so far, as I've just recently started this type of meditation and am only in the beginning stages of the technique).

You don't have to be a Buddhist to meditate or to benefit from meditation. Anyone can meditate. So feel free to join in. :)

I'll start.

I meditated for a little over an hour last night, focusing solely on the sensation of each breath as it passed through my nose (just focusing on the sensation of the breath--not on the actual breathing itself) I feel I had a good 25 minutes of proper meditation, while the rest of the hour was intermingled with moments where I found myself in need of refocusing. Overall I think it was a fairly good session.

xoxo
Emms

Post subject: Re: The Meditation Thread
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 5:46 pm 
16. Pancakes in Bellies

I always wanted to meditate, but some how it never worked for me. I never could stop thinking of things. I wish I could do it, it sounds wonderful to be able to zoom out and refresh your strength.