The Kitten, the Witches and the Bad Wardrobe - Willow & Tara Forever

General Chat  || Kitten  || WaV  || Pens  || Mi2  || GMP  || TiE  || FAQ  || Feed - The Kitten, the Witches and the Bad Wardrobe

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: The Sincerest Form of Flattery: A Series (#6 posted 1/24)
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 8:32 pm 
7. Teeny Tinkerbell Light

Topics: 10
I've mentioned on other parts of the board that I grew up with a writer. My youngest sister started writing fan-fiction when she was about ten (it felt odd to then start myself at 28), and this May she will be finishing her M.F.A. in translation, with graduate courses from the Iowa Writers Workshop under her belt. So I've heard a lot about writing fiction, even though I'm new to doing it myself.

I say this because one of the things I've heard a lot about is rewrites. Not editing, not revising, but taking an entire story and starting over with major changes (insertion/deletion of major characters, change what century the story is in, completely changing the theme, etc). Now, most of the times I hear about it is when you rewrite your own work, but I've had to rewrite things in different literary styles.

Yesterday I was having trouble getting into Willow's head after spending some 10,000 words in Tara's. So I decided to try writing something else. A writing exercise, of sorts: taking someone else's story and totally rewriting it. If it goes well, I may do a series out of these. I would certainly consider requests.

Without further ado, and with permission of the original author, here it is.

Author: BeMyDeputy (Kate)
Rating: G
Feedback: Yes please! This is currently an un-betaed writing exercise. Both positive and negative feedback are extremely welcome.
Disclaimer: The entire Buffyverse (including setting, characters, and plot) is property of it's owners, including but not limited to Joss Whedon and Mutant Enemy. No copyright infringement is intended by this work.