The Kitten, the Witches and the Bad Wardrobe - Willow & Tara Forever

General Chat  || Kitten  || WaV  || Pens  || Mi2  || GMP  || TiE  || FAQ  || Feed - The Kitten, the Witches and the Bad Wardrobe

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Crazy idea - group beta
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 4:47 am 
4. Extra Flamey

Topics: 4
Hey everybody. I'm a previously old writer who fell off the writing wagon a few years ago--actually, hitting the wall creatively pushed me off, and just recently decided to try to climb back on.

A recent attempt to post to Pens didn't go too well, and I'm a bit low on confidence. It was a practice piece of PWP I'd written to get me back in the groove of writing regularly. But, it's got problems as far as flow, and perspective, and memory/tense techniques, and writing sex.

So, it occurred to me that maybe I should try a beta again. But honestly, I really don't think I'd benefit from the regular one-on-one beta process I've done in the past. I don't need help with grammar or spelling or American idioms, which from experience is often what a new beta-writer relationship has to start with. The help I need is more with plotting and pacing and technique, and it normally takes a while (sometimes never) and a lot of stop-stuttering to find the right kind of one-on-one beta for that, one that thinks similarly as you do, but different enough that there is some contrast to cause some creative friction needed to move writing along. So, I thought, maybe a more public process would work out better. I was thinking I'd post it here and solicit comments from anyone interested, then after it's been reworked with any feedback, post it to Pens, where I think finished pieces should go.